This new data will make it easier to track the profitability of your Yandex.Direct campaigns and optimize your settings, using this indicator as a guide. Keep reading to find out what's new in your statistics and how to use priority goals.
How to work with the new statistics in Report Wizard
1. Check your profit for priority goals.
Profit is calculated using data about the value of the goals you selected in your campaign settings:
For priority goals, profit and revenue in statistics depend directly on the value of the conversions you selected in the campaign settings. Here is how profit for impressions is calculated: total revenue for selected goals minus click costs.
(Revenue from priority goal 1 + Revenue from priority goal 2 + Revenue from priority goal n) − Cost
Revenue from priority goal n =
Conversion value for priority goal n × Conversions for priority goal n
Alongside priority goals, income for profit calculations can be taken from e-commerce data in Yandex.Metrica.
2. In the new "Data by goal" field, you can create a report for several goals at once. Moreover, you can see the number of conversions, conversion rates, and the CPA of each of the goals selected.
This option allows you to see your ads' effectiveness at different levels of the sales funnel:
The data is available in Report Wizard at both the campaign level and for the entire account, so you can see the big picture of your ads' performance and determine potential areas for improvement.
Why priority goals are a good idea
- Priority goals help boost your campaigns' performance. When the system understands what you consider to be a conversion, Yandex.Direct will do its best to get as many of them as possible for your budget. Read more about how the technology behind this works.
- Once you calculate and enter the value of your goals, your reports will give you a clear idea of whether your campaign with its current settings is bringing you closer to your overall business goals.
Most important is correctly calculating how much your business makes from each conversion. For example, an order that is completed and paid for brings you, on average, 1500 RUB. Keep in mind that only one of every ten users actually pays for what they added to their cart. So the "Added to cart" goal will have a value no higher than 1500/10 = 150 RUB.
Examples of values set in the interface
Here's an example of things done right (the value of goals is set based on their importance for the business):
And here is how to do things incorrectly (goals have identical values, regardless of their importance for the business, or no value is set at all):
In addition, you can account for the influence of one goal on others in your calculations, if the completion of a goal requires the preceding goal to likewise be completed.
Let's say that we are advertising holiday tours, the pre-paid, all-inclusive kind. Fulfilling the "Bought tour" goal brings the business 10 000 RUB. This is the conversion value for this business. One of every ten users who adds a tour to the cart purchases it. The value of the "Added tour to cart" conversion = 10 000 /10 = 1 000 RUB. One of every twenty users who views the catalog adds a tour to the cart. The value of the "Viewed tour catalog" conversion = 1000 / 20 = 50 RUB.
Since fulfilling one goal implies that the user already fulfilled the preceding goals, you can make the following corrections to your conversion values:
- "Viewed tour catalog" = 50 RUB
- "Added tour to cart" = 950 RUB (1000 − 50), as it was necessary for the user to view the catalog in order to add the tour.
- "Bought tour" = 9 000 RUB (10 000 − 950 − 50)
To read more about how to assess the performance of your ad campaigns, read the corresponding Help section.