Browser (classic interface)

Browser syncing

Syncing lets you store your browser's main settings on a special Yandex server. It stores your bookmarks, passwords, history, apps, plug-ins, and Autofill forms.

Now, even if your computer fails, your browser settings will be saved. You can also sync your browser settings on any computer.

About synchronization security

All information is transferred to the Yandex server over a secure channel. In addition, passwords are sent only in encrypted format. Access to your data on the server is protected by the same authorization system as on other Yandex services.

Setting up syncing

When initiating syncing, you will need to enter the username and password that you use on Yandex. If you have not yet registered on Yandex, you can do so on the registration page or when first enabling syncing.

You can turn off syncing or adjust the list of settings to sync at any time when using the browser.

Tip. To get to sync settings more quickly, open a new tab and click the button with your username in the bottom right corner of the window. Select an action in the menu that opens.

Enable syncing
  1. Click the button
    [no-highlight[

    In the top right corner of the browser window

    ]no-highlight]
      Syncing.
  2. In the Syncing window, enter your login and password on Yandex.

    Note. If you haven't registered on Yandex yet, click the link Create account in the same window, and follow the instructions.

  3. Click the Enable syncing button.
  4. Click the link Change settings and indicate which settings should be synced.

    Note. In this window, the browser offers to install an app for accessing Yandex.Disk, a service that lets you store files on Yandex servers for free. If you have already installed this app, the browser suggests turning it on, so you will be able to store browser files on Yandex.Disk.

Disable syncing
Click the button
[no-highlight[

In the top right corner of the browser window

]no-highlight]
  SyncingDisable.
Show syncing options
Click the button
[no-highlight[

In the top right corner of the browser window

]no-highlight]
  SyncingShow settings.
Delete all synced data
  1. Click the button
    [no-highlight[

    In the top right corner of the browser window

    ]no-highlight]
      SyncingShow settings.
  2. Click the delete link
    [no-highlight[

    Under the options of the Syncing section

    ]no-highlight]
    .
  3. Confirm deleting all account data from the synchronization server.

If you sync the browser with a mobile phone, you will also be able to use Push to Call to call a number you have seen on a website, without having to dial the number manually. For more information, see the section Push to Call.

User profile

The user's personal profile displays personal settings such as the browser appearance, bookmarks, passwords, browsing history, installed extensions, apps and plug-ins, autofill forms, and so on.

If there are several different users on your computer, such as family members or co-workers, we recommend creating a separate browser profile for each user. This will prevent mixing your personal settings and data with others'.

Managing profiles

Browser profiles are managed in a separate section of settings:

  1. Click the button
    [no-highlight[

    In the top right corner of the browser window

    ]no-highlight]
      Settings.
  2. In the Users section, you can create a new profile or delete an existing one, and also import settings from other browsers to a profile.

As soon as a profile is created in the browser, you will see its icon in the upper-right corner of the window. To switch between profiles, click the icon for the current profile.

Profiles and syncing the browser

We recommend creating a separate browser profile for each Yandex login. Otherwise, at some point you might combine the settings and data from several profiles while syncing a profile with a different username.

If you want to start syncing on a different computer, make sure you are using your own browser profile (if necessary, create a new profile), and do not begin syncing until you have done so. Otherwise, you might mix your settings and data with someone else's profile that is currently active.

browser syncing
sync computer and tablet
save personal settings on Yandex server