Doorway

Doorway is a type of search engine spam. A doorway site (or individual pages) is created mainly to redirect users to another site. As a rule, the initial site has little, if any, useful content and is of no value to the user. These sites often contain a large number of search queries.

Sometimes the appearance of doorway pages may be related to site hacking. In this case, quite a large number of such pages are created, but the site owner may not even notice them.

Perhaps, they appeared on the site as a result of hacking. Delete these pages.

You can find some doorway pages by certain phrases in the text. For example, [download], [buy], [play]. To find them, use the site operator: type a search query like site:site URL in the Yandex search bar. For example, [download site:example.com]. The search will return all pages that contain the word “download”.

To find all pages, use the tips in the How to cure an infected site section. Also see the How to protect your site from infection section and other recommendations for site security.

Doorway pages are deleted. How do I tell Yandex?
  1. Go to the Diagnostics → Security and violations page in Yandex.Webmaster.
  2. Click I fixed it.

After that, the site will be checked using special algorithms within a week. If the violation is not found again, the restrictions will be removed.

If it is, check whether you've fixed everything on the site and send a new request for verification.

Review the site's objectives and add some useful content or functionality that you plan to develop in the future. The site must respond to user queries, provide various information and services, and not just redirect to other resources.

Violations are cleared. How do I tell Yandex?
  1. Go to the Diagnostics → Security and violations page in Yandex.Webmaster.
  2. Click I fixed it.

After that, the site will be checked using special algorithms. This may take about a month. If the violation is not found again, the restrictions will be removed.

If it is, check whether you've fixed everything on the site. You can tell us again about the changes within a month of the verification start. Further, this period may increase up to three months.