Webmaster
How Yandex indexes sites
A site on search results page

Access rights

When you confirm your site management rights in Yandex.Webmaster, you get access to information about how the Yandex robot has indexed site pages. Because this data may contain confidential information, Yandex has to be sure that you have the rights to manage that site.

How do I confirm my site management rights?

To confirm site management rights, follow these steps:

  1. Log in on Yandex and add the site in the Yandex.Webmaster service. After it is added, the site is displayed on the My Sites page.

  2. Choose your confirmation method on the Verification page:

    • HTML file in the root directory: Create an HTML file with a unique name and content we provide and place it in your site's root directory.

    • Meta tag on the main page: Add a special meta tag to the HTML code of the site's home page (in the head element).

    • TXT record in DNS: Add a TXT record to the site's DNS record containing the specified unique value.

    • Email address from WHOIS data: Confirm the email address indicated in WHOIS on the Email Addresses page.

      Use this method if your site is a second-level domain and is located outside of the RU or РФ domain zone.

    • You can get site management rights from another user using rights delegation.

Note. 

If you have multiple sites or subdomains on a site, you must confirm rights for each site or subdomain separately.

Confirming your rights may take a long time (up to 24 hours). If your rights haven't been verified within this time, contact the Support service.

If you aren't able to use any of the methods listed, but you have a direct relation to the site, contact your webmaster or other coworker who is responsible for site support.

The site owner can change. For this reason, Yandex periodically checks for changes confirming site management rights. If one of these tests does not detect the necessary changes, the site will again be considered “unconfirmed”.

Delegating rights

After confirming site management rights, you can transfer your rights to other Yandex.Webmaster users. The user you granted rights to has unrestricted access to all of the features of the service.

To delegate rights, enter the username for the selected site on the Management rights tab and click Delegate rights. After your site is added to Yandex.Webmaster for that username, the site management rights of that user will be automatically confirmed.

To revoke site management rights for another user, go to the Management rights section.

My site management rights are "not verified". What does that mean?

This status means you have not confirmed your site management rights for that site.

Can more than one person manage the same website?

Yes, as long as they all confirm their site management rights. You can see the list of confirmed users on the rights verification page for that site.

Where did the other users who are managing my site come from?

Multiple people can confirm rights to a site. This is convenient if, for example, both the webmaster and site owner want to keep track of things.

If you think someone confirmed their site management rights improperly and should not have those rights, you can:

  • Remove the rights of that user by clicking Revoke rights. First make sure that you remove the changes that user made to confirm their rights.
  • Change the password used to access the site.
Rate this article
Thank you for your feedback!