Why is there a pending charge on my payment account?

When a payment method on your Uber account is newly added or unused for several days, Uber will verify it by issuing a temporary authorization hold.

Authorization holds are small amounts of money that are never actually charged to your account. However, you may notice one of these amounts listed on your account as “pending”.

At the start of a trip, Uber may place a temporary authorization hold for the upfront fare of the trip on your payment method. This will show up as a “pending” charge on your account's payment method. When the trip completes, this authorization hold is converted to a charge for the final trip fare.

If the trip has been canceled or the total fare is different than the upfront price in your app, the original authorization hold should be voided from your payment method within a few business days, but depending on your bank policy.

If you would like to confirm a specific item on your statement, please contact your bank directly.