Cancelling an Uber ride

You can cancel a trip at any time before or after you've been paired with a driver but in some situations, you may be charged a fee.

Canceling an Uber ride

To cancel before you are paired with a driver:

  1. Tap the white info bar at the bottom of your screen.
  2. Tap Cancel.
  3. You'll be asked to confirm. Tap Yes.

To cancel after you've been paired with a driver:

  1. Tap the driver info bar at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Tap Cancel Trip.
  3. You'll be asked to confirm the cancellation.

Once a trip has started, you can end it by notifying your driver that you'd like to be dropped off. The driver will end the trip for you.

If you accidentally cancel a trip while you're on the way to your destination, your driver can still take you to your destination, and then request a fare adjustment.

Cancellation fees

Cancellation fees help ensure faster pickups for riders. Cancellation fee amounts differ by city and vehicle option.

You may be charged a cancellation fee in the following situations:

  • You cancel the trip after your driver arrived.
  • Your driver cancels the trip 10+ minutes after arriving.