Browser

Browser syncing

What is synchronization?

Synchronization (syncing) is the ability to save your main browser settings and personal data on a special Yandex server, including: bookmarks, passwords, history, Autofill for forms, extensions, and open tabs. All information is transferred to the Yandex server over a secure channel. Passwords are sent only in encoded format. Access to your data on the server is protected by the same authorization system as on other Yandex services.

Syncing lets you:

  • Save browser settings even if your computer fails.
  • Open the browser with your personal settings on any computer or mobile device.
  • Call phone numbers found in the internet, without dialing them on your phone (see Push to Call).

You can turn off syncing or adjust the list of data to sync at any time when using the browser.

How often is data synced?

After you turn on syncing, it is performed each time you change data that is stored on the server. For example, you added a bookmark on your smartphone. The browser sends it to the server and simultaneously downloads any changes you have made on other devices since the last time your smartphone was synced.

How do I turn on syncing?

Attention! If your browser has multiple profiles, make sure you are in your own profile before syncing (otherwise you might mix your settings and data with data from someone else's profile that is currently active).

To turn on syncing:

  1. Click the icon
    [no-highlight[

    In the upper-right corner of the browser

    ]no-highlight]
      Syncing.
  2. On the Syncing page, enter your Yandex username and password. If you haven't registered on Yandex yet, click Create account in the same window, and follow the instructions.

  3. Click the Enable syncing button.
  4. Click Change settings and indicate which settings should be synced.

    Note that at this point the browser offers to install an app for accessing Yandex.Disk, a service that lets you store files on Yandex servers for free. If you have already installed this app, the browser suggests turning it on, so you will be able to store browser files on Yandex.Disk.

  5. Click Close.

Note. The first time you turn on device syncing, it may take from several minutes to half an hour. The data is downloaded gradually to avoid slowing down the browser.

Changing the list of data to sync

To change synchronization parameters:

  1. Click the icon
    [no-highlight[

    In the upper-right corner of the browser

    ]no-highlight]
      Syncing.
  2. Click Show settings.
  3. In the Syncing section, turn on just the data that needs to be synced.

Deleting synchronized data

To delete all synchronized data:

  1. Click the icon
    [no-highlight[

    In the upper-right corner of the browser

    ]no-highlight]
      Syncing.
  2. Click the link
    [no-highlight[

    Under the options in the Syncing section

    ]no-highlight]
     delete.
  3. In the Would you like to delete this information? window, click Yes, delete to confirm deleting all the account data from the synchronization server.

Disabling syncing

To turn off syncing:

  1. Click the icon
    [no-highlight[

    In the upper-right corner of the browser

    ]no-highlight]
      Syncing.
  2. Click Disable.
browser syncing
sync computer and tablet
save personal settings on Yandex server