Freezing and archiving inactive mailboxes

If you haven't used your mailbox for more than 24 months, Yandex has the right to freeze it and then archive it (Paragraph 2.3 in the User Agreement). This means that new messages are not delivered and your mailbox can't be accessed from mail clients. However, your previous email will be kept.

Note. Yandex will warn you about the scheduled actions before the mailbox is frozen. You'll receive notifications of the upcoming freeze 30 days and 10 days before the event.

To prevent freezing, you just need to log in to your mailbox. If you lost access to your Yandex account or have other problems logging in, see the tips in Help for Yandex.Passport to restore access.

What to do if your mailbox is frozen

For 6 months from the time the mailbox is frozen, you can unfreeze it without losing the contents, settings, and address book.

To restore a frozen mailbox:

  1. Log in to Yandex.Mail as you normally would.
  2. Click Yes, unfreeze. This will open your unfrozen mailbox, where Yandex will restore all emails and settings.

If you no longer need the mailbox and email in it, you can delete it. In this case, you won't be able to restore email or settings.

To delete a frozen mailbox:
  1. Log in to Yandex.Mail as you normally would.
  2. Click No, delete forever.
  3. Confirm your choice by clicking Delete. In this case, the mailbox will be deleted and you'll be redirected to the Yandex.Passport page.
Note. Only your mailbox and its contents are deleted. Your Yandex account remains active and you can continue using other Yandex services. If you want to use Yandex.Mail again, log in to your account. You'll see a new mailbox with the previous address.

What to do if the mailbox is archived

The mailbox is archived if Yandex has previously frozen it and you haven't unfrozen it within 6 months. In this case only your emails and created folders are archived. The mailbox and all settings, including labels and the address book, are deleted.

You can unarchive your mailbox at any time:

  1. Log in to Yandex.Mail as you normally would.
  2. Click Restore email archive. You'll be redirected to your new mailbox with the previous name, where Yandex will restore all your email and folders.
Note. It may take up to several days to restore the email archive. You can use your mailbox during this time but all old emails and folders will appear only after they're fully uploaded. Note that the mailbox settings, labels, and the address book will not be restored.

If you no longer need your archived email, you can delete it permanently:

  1. Log in to Yandex.Mail as you normally would.
  2. Click Delete email archive.
  3. To confirm, click Yes, delete. In this case, all archived email will be deleted, and you'll be redirected to the Yandex.Mail page with an empty mailbox.
Note. Only the email archive is deleted. Your mailbox remains active. If you want to use Yandex.Mail again, log in and you'll see the empty mailbox with the previous address.