Syncing data between computers

Each time you copy, edit or delete a Yandex.Disk file, the modifications will be replicated on the Disk server and can be seen on the Disk page. Any files you upload through the Disk page will automatically be downloaded to the "Yandex.Disk" folder on your computer.

Therefore, no matter which device you use, the files you see will all be the same.

  1. What happens if the same file is modified on different devices at the same time?
  2. Sync status in the application
  3. How are modified files synced?
  4. Selecting folders to sync

What happens if the same file is modified on different devices at the same time?

For example, let's say you create a picture called image.jpg on your computer while it isn't connected to the internet, then you upload a picture with the same name to Disk from your mobile.

Yandex.Disk will start syncing as soon as you connect your computer to the internet. Having detected two files with the same name, Disk will automatically rename one as follows: image.jpg and image(2).jpg.

Sync status in the application

The Yandex.Disk icon in the Windows system tray or Mac OS X menu bar will display the current sync status provided you're logged in:

  • — all files synced
  • — syncing
  • — sync error

Windows Explorer also displays these icons for each file in the Yandex.Disk folder.

Hold your mouse over the Yandex.Disk icon to check the sync speed. The download and upload speeds will appear in a pop-up window.

How are modified files synced?

Yandex.Disk determines which part of the file has been modified and only uploads that part and not the entire file.

Selecting folders to sync

To save space on your computer, you can turn off synchronization for specific folders. These folders will be removed from the computer, but will still be available on the Disk page and in other Yandex.Disk applications.

Detailed instructions for setting up selective synchronization: