You can allow friends or colleagues to access your folders on Yandex.Disk. When they get access, the people you invited will see a copy of the shared folder on their own Disk.
When you make changes to a shared folder, such as renaming or adding a file, all the authorized users see your changes.
If you give users full access to a folder, they can also modify your files and upload new ones. This makes it possible to collaborate using the same files.
Granting access to a folder
To open access to a folder:
on the Disk page, select the desired folder and click the Share folder button:
- on a computer with the “Yandex.Disk” application installed, right-click the desired folder and select Yandex.Disk: Access Settings.
Why do other people's folders use space on my Disk?
When you accept an invitation to access a folder, the service copies the entire folder to your Disk (regardless of your access rights). So if your Disk size is 10 GB, you will not be able to accept an invitation to share a large folder.
The only way to keep a shared folder from using space on your Disk is to disable access to it by deleting the folder entirely.
What is the point of this?
Shared folders use space on Disk for each of the authorized users, so that an individual user can't keep infinitely increasing his personal space quota. Otherwise, it would be easy to register new accounts and grant yourself access to folders on these accounts.
Actions for shared folders
- All authorized users can rename and move a shared folder on their own Disks. This does not have any effect on granting or getting access rights.
- Authorized users can revoke their own access to a shared folder by deleting the copy from their own Disk.
- If the owner of a shared folder deletes it, all authorized users will lose their access rights to the folder.
Change folder access
Select the folder and click the Manage access button in the panel on the right.
In the window that opens, you can change individual access rights or revoke access (if you revoke access from people, the copy of your folder will be removed from their Disks).