Windows application

The "Yandex.Disk" application lets you manage your Disk files on your computer and automatically syncs them with Disk over the internet.

Restriction:

The "Yandex.Disk" application supports the following operating systems:

  • Windows XP Service Pack 3 32-bit (As of version 0.8, Service Pack 1 and Service 2 are no longer supported);
  • Windows XP Service Pack 2 64-bit (As of version 0.8, Service Pack 1 is no longer supported);
  • Windows Vista;
  • Windows 7;
  • Windows 8 (classic interface).

Installation

Download the application from disk.yandex.com/download. You will see instructions on how to run the file once it starts downloading.

A icon will appear in the Windows system tray when the installation is complete.

Logging in

Once installed, the "Yandex.Disk" application will ask you to enter your Yandex username and password. The tray icon will display an exclamation mark until you've logged in.

If you didn't log in immediately after the application was installed, click on the application icon in the system tray and select the Log in menu option.

Follow the Create account link and register if you don't yet have a Yandex account. Then enter your username and password in the "Yandex.Disk" login box.

Attention: If you use two-factor authentication for logging into "Yandex.Disk", you will need a one-time password, which is generated by the "Yandex.Key" application.

Selecting the Disk folder location

The "Yandex.Disk" application automatically creates a folder that syncs with our cloud service. You can customize its location on the computer after installing the program. To do so, click on Set folder location → Change and select the required folder.

If you skipped this step, you can customize the folder location in a different way: select Settings in the menu and click on Change in the Folder block.

Managing files and folders

All you have to do to upload files to Disk is copy or move them to the Yandex.Disk folder. For example, open the folder in Explorer (the Open Yandex.Disk folder option in the application menu, or click Start → All Programs → Yandex.Disk → Yandex.Disk) and drag the required files there. The files will then be synced automatically. You may open the Disk page to make sure that all the files have been uploaded successfully.

Any file you delete from the Yandex.Disk folder will be moved to the Trash folder on the server. These files are stored in the Trash for 30 days, after which they are automatically removed from the server. Once removed from the server, these files cannot be restored.

Attention: Files in your Trash still eat into your storage allowance. Empty your Trash if you're running out of space.

To clear your Trash folder, open the Yandex.Disk folder, right click on Trash then select Yandex.Disk: Empty Trash.

How do I share a file or folder?

You can share any file or folder on your computer. If you select a file or folder that hasn't yet been uploaded to Disk, the application will automatically upload it to the Disk server and copy the public link to your clipboard.

Right click on the required file or folder. In the menu that appears, select Yandex.Disk → Copy public link, if it is a folder, or Yandex Disk: Copy the public link, if it is a file.

You can also share a file or folder through the application menu. Click on the Disk icon in the system tray and select Sharing → Select a file or folder and get a public link.

In the window that opens, you can select any file or folder on your computer.

You can insert the copied link in an email, post it on social networks, and so on.

How do I open access to a folder?

Open the Yandex.Disk folder and right click on the required folder. Then select Yandex.Disk: Access Settings.

The application opens the access rights page in your browser. On this page, you can choose people to grant access to, and set their access rights.

How can I choose which folders to sync?

To save space on your computer, you can turn off synchronization for specific folders. These folders will be removed from the computer, but will still be available on the Disk page and in other Yandex.Disk applications.

Folder synchronization cannot be turned off if not all the files in the folder have been synchronized (indicated by the icon).

  1. Disabling folder sync
  2. Uploading files to a folder with sync disabled

Disabling folder sync

To turn off folder synchronization, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the application icon in the system tray and select the Settings menu option.
  2. Go to the Selective sync tab.
  3. Deselect the folder that you want to disable synchronization for.
  4. Click the OK button.
  5. Click on Delete folders from this computer in the window that appears for the changes to take effect.

You can also use the right-click menu to disable folder synchronization. Open the Yandex.Disk folder and right click on the required folder. In the menu, select Yandex.Disk → Disable syncing:

Uploading files to a folder with sync disabled

If you turned off folder synchronization, you can upload files to this folder in the Yandex.Disk settings window. Go to the Selective sync tab and drag the files to the name of the desired folder:

How do I set up auto-uploads?

You can automatically upload all your photos and videos from any card or device (camera, smartphone, memory card, etc.) and save them in the "Camera Uploads" folder or any other folder on Disk.

  1. Uploading files
  2. Disabling auto-uploads

Uploading files

Connect the device to your computer and wait for the upload window to appear:

Click Upload to start uploading photos and videos to Disk. Check the Always upload photos and videos from <device name> box to allow the application to automatically upload files.

By default, all the photos and videos detected on your device will be uploaded to the "Photo Uploads" folder. All the files in your folder will be named according to the date and time they were taken. The image viewer lets you easily manage your photos on your computer or on the Disk page.

Note: If you have already configured auto-uploads in the Android app, iOS or Mac OS applications, the Windows software will only upload new photos.

If your device gets disconnected from your computer but the Always upload photos and videos from <device name> option was checked, your photos and videos will continue uploading automatically the next time your device is connected. If you haven't selected this option, a window will open asking if you would like to enable auto-uploads.

Just click Not now to stop automatically uploading photos and videos from your device. In the dialog box that appears, you can only select this option for the current device or enable the Never upload from this device option. If you use this option, the window will not appear.

Note: Automatic photo and video uploads will even work if you're not connected to the internet. Your files will be synced with the "Camera Uploads" folder the next time you connect to the internet.

Disabling auto-uploads

Take the following steps to disable auto-uploads for all devices:

  1. Click on the Disk icon in the Windows system tray then select Settings.
  2. Go to the Camera Uploads tab.
  3. Disable the Ask to upload photos and videos automatically option.
  4. Click OK.

Use the Forget all devices option to stop uploading photos and videos from the device. If the Ask to upload photos and videos automatically option is selected, the window will appear the next time you connect the device to the computer.

How can I put the Yandex.Disk icon in the system tray?

To make Disk easy to find, the icon for the "Yandex.Disk" application is always displayed in the Windows system tray. If you don't see the icon on your taskbar, you can drag it to a visible section of your tray :

How do I report a problem?

If you encountered a problem with the "Yandex.Disk" application, send us an error report: click the application icon and select Help → Report a bug.