Mac OS X application

The “Yandex.Disk” application lets you manage your Disk files on your computer and automatically syncs all changes online.

Restriction:

The “Yandex.Disk” application can only be installed on computers with a 64-bit processor running Mac OS X 10.6 or later (Snow Leopard, Lion, or Mountain Lion).

How to find out if you have a 32 or 64-bit processor.

Installing the application

Download the application from disk.yandex.com/download. The page will display instructions on how to launch the file once the download commences (the file will launch automatically if you're using Safari).

Drag the “Yandex.Disk” app to the Applications folder on your computer.

Logging in to the application

You will be asked to enter your Yandex username and password when you first launch the application. The icon in the menu bar will display an exclamation mark until you've logged in.

To log in, you can always click on the application icon in the menu bar and select Configure Yandex.Disk in the menu that appears.

Follow the Create account link and register if you don't yet have a Yandex account. Then enter your username and password.

Attention: If you use two-factor authentication for logging into “Yandex.Disk”, you will need a one-time password, which is generated by the “Yandex.Key” application.

Selecting the Disk folder location

The “Yandex.Disk” application automatically creates a folder that syncs with our cloud service. You can customize its location on the computer after installing the program. To do so, click on Set folder location → Change and select the required folder.

If you skipped this step, you can customize the folder location in a different way: select Settings in the menu and click on Change in the Folder block.

Managing files

There are two ways to upload files to Yandex.Disk:

  • Drag files to the Yandex.Disk icon at the top of the menu.
  • Open the Yandex.Disk folder in Finder (choose Open Yandex.Disk folder in the application menu) and copy or drag the desired files and folders to it.

The files will then be synced automatically. You may open the Disk page to make sure that all the files have been uploaded successfully.

Any file you delete from the Yandex.Disk folder will be moved to the Trash folder on the server. These files are stored in the Trash for 30 days, after which they are automatically removed from the server. Once removed from the server, these files cannot be restored.

Attention: Files in your Trash still eat into your storage allowance. Empty your Trash if you're running out of space.

To clear your Trash folder, open the Yandex.Disk folder, right click on Trash then select Yandex.Disk: Empty Trash.

How do I share a file or folder?

You can share any file or folder on your computer. If you select a file or folder that hasn't yet been uploaded to Disk, the application will automatically upload it to the Disk server and copy the public link to your clipboard.

Right click on the required file or folder. Then select Yandex.Disk: Copy public link.

You can also share a file or folder through the application menu. Click on the Yandex.Disk icon in your menu bar and select Sharing → Select a file or folder and get a public link.

In the window that opens, you can select any file or folder on your computer.

You can insert the copied link in an email, post it on social networks, and so on.

How do I open access to a folder?

Open the Yandex.Disk folder and right click on the required folder. In the menu that appears, select Services → Yandex.Disk: Configure access settings.

The application opens the access page in your browser. On this page, you can choose people to grant access to, and set their access rights.

How can I choose which folders to sync?

To save space on your computer, you can turn off synchronization for specific folders. These folders will be removed from the computer, but will still be available on the Disk page and in other Yandex.Disk applications.

Synchronization management is only available for folders that are located directly in the Yandex.Disk folder. For example, you can change synchronization settings for the folder Yandex.Disk/Music, but not for the subfolder Yandex.Disk/Music/Favorites.

Folder synchronization cannot be turned off if not all the files in the folder have been synchronized (the Yandex.Disk icon in the menu bar shows the icon).

Disabling folder sync

To turn off folder synchronization, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the Yandex.Disk icon in the menu bar and select the Settings menu option.
  2. Go to the Selective sync tab.
  3. Deselect the folder that you want to disable synchronization for.
  4. Click the Apply button.
  5. Click on Delete folders from this computer in the window that appears for the changes to take effect.

Uploading files to a folder with sync disabled

If you turned off folder synchronization, you can upload files to this folder in the Yandex.Disk settings window. Go to the Selective sync tab and drag the files to the name of the desired folder:

How do I set up auto-uploads?

You can automatically upload all your photos and videos from any card or device (camera, smartphone, memory card, etc.) and save them in the “Camera Uploads” folder or any other folder on Disk.

Uploading files

Connect the device to your computer and wait for the upload window to appear:

Click Upload to start uploading photos and videos to Disk. Check the Always upload photos and videos from <device name> box to allow the application to automatically upload files.

By default, all the photos and videos detected on your device will be uploaded to the “Photo Uploads” folder. All the files in your folder will be named according to the date and time they were taken. The image viewer lets you easily manage your photos on your computer or on the Disk page.

Note: If you have already configured auto-uploads in the Android, iOS or Windows programs, the Mac OS app will only upload new photos and videos to Disk.

If your device gets disconnected from your computer but the Always upload photos and videos from <device name> option was checked, your photos and videos will continue uploading automatically the next time your device is connected. If you haven't selected this option, a window will open asking if you would like to enable auto-uploads.

Just click Cancel to stop automatically uploading photos and videos from your device. You can only select this option for the current device or tick the Never upload from this device. If you use this option, the window will not appear.

Note: Automatic photo and video uploads will even work if you're not connected to the internet. Your files will be synced with the “Camera Uploads” folder the next time you connect to the internet.

The “Yandex.Disk” app for Mac OS X does not support automatic photo and video uploads from the following devices:

  • HTC Mozart (Windows Phone 7);
  • HTC Windows Phone 8X (Windows Phone 8).

The “Yandex.Disk” app for Mac OS X does not support automatic photo and video uploads from the following devices:

  • HTC Touch Cruise T4242 (Windows Mobile 6.1) in removable memory card mode;
  • HTC Mozart (Windows Phone 7);
  • HTC Windows Phone 8X (Windows Phone 8);
  • Nokia N8-00 (Symbian^3);
  • LG GS500 (Java) in removable memory card mode;
  • Fujifilm Finepix HS25EXR;
  • Samsung ST78.

Disabling auto-uploads

Take the following steps to disable auto-uploads for all devices:

  1. Click on the Yandex.Disk icon in the menu bar and select the Settings menu option.
  2. Go to the Camera Uploads tab.
  3. Disable the Ask to upload photos and videos automatically option.

Use the Forget all devices option to stop uploading photos and videos from the device. If the Ask to upload photos and videos automatically option is selected, the window will appear the next time you connect the device to the computer.

How do I report a problem?

If you encountered a problem while working with “Yandex.Disk”, send us an error report: click the application icon and select Help → Report a bug: