Select files and folders to sync

Yandex.Disk looks like a regular folder on your computer. This folder can also be called the sync folder: this is the folder that Yandex.Disk on the server syncs with when there is an internet connection. But you can sync only a part of your files. To do this, configure custom syncing.

  1. How can I select a different folder for syncing with the server?
  2. Select folders to sync

How can I select a different folder for syncing with the server?

  1. Click the Disk icon in the notifications area.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. Click Set folder location.
  4. Specify a different folder for synchronization with the server.
Can I use removable media as a folder for syncing?
We do not recommend using removable media as a folder for syncing, as Yandex.Drive might not work correctly. The program needs permanent storage space on the computer for syncing, and removable media does not provide that.

Select folders to sync

In Yandex.Disk 3.0, you can synch just the selected files from your Yandex.Disk to save space on your computer. For example, if you work with the Documents folder a lot, you can turn on synchronization for it to store the folder on your computer. The rest of the folders are stored only in the cloud, but are also available in the program.

Sync status is displayed on the file or folder icon.

  • — Syncing in progress.
  • — The file or folder is stored on the computer.
  • — The folder contents is partly stored on the computer.
  • — The file or folder is stored only in the cloud.
  • — The syncing status is unknown.
  • — Syncing error.

Store a file or folder both in the cloud and on your computer

To enable syncing for files or folders, select them from the list and click the Save to computer button above the file list or from the context menu. When the file is synced with the computer, the icon changes from to . After this, you can view the file in the Yandex.Disk folder: click Show in Finder in the file context menu.

Store a file or folder in the cloud only

To free up space on your computer, turn off syncing for a file or folder. It is removed from the computer, but is still available on the Yandex.Disk page.

To do this, choose it in the list and click the Keep online only button above the file list or in the context menu. When a file or folder is removed from the computer, the icon changes from to .