Auto-uploading photos and videos from a mobile phone

Configure unlimited auto-upload of media files to Yandex.Disk if you take a lot of photos and videos with your phone or tablet. This way your photos won't be lost even if something happens to your phone or tablet.

With auto-upload, photos and videos don't take space on your Disk. They are available on the service page and in the mobile application, in the All photos section.

To upload photos and videos to the Camera Uploads folder and sync them with computer, turn off unlimited upload.

  1. Turn on unlimited auto-upload
  2. Turn off unlimited auto-upload
  3. Actions with photos and videos
  4. What folder will my photos and videos be in?
  5. Notifications about uploaded photos and videos
  6. How do I make sure that the unlimited auto-upload is on?

Turn on unlimited auto-upload

When running the app for the fist time

A window asking if you would like to set up auto-uploads will be displayed the first time you open the app. Tap Enable. Auto-upload will start automatically. By default, the photos are uploaded only if there is Wi-Fi connection. To upload photos both over Wi-Fi and over the mobile network, turn off the Upload only over Wi-Fi option.

To configure auto-upload later, close the window.

From the app settings
  1. Go to Settings.
  2. In the Photo auto-upload section, choose the desired auto-upload option.

Auto-upload options

  • Wi-Fi only. Files are uploaded only if Wi-Fi connection is available.
  • Over any network. Files are uploaded with any internet connection (Wi-Fi, mobile data).
    Attention. You may be charged for using a mobile data connection.

How do I switch to unlimited auto-upload?

If you used auto-upload before (photos and videos were uploaded to the Camera Uploads folder), you can switch to unlimited auto-upload:

  1. Update the Yandex.Disk mobile app to the latest version.
  2. Open the application.
  3. Tap Enable in the Unlimited photo storage block.
I closed the block with unlimited storage by mistake.

If you want to switch to unlimited auto-upload but closed the block with the unlimited option:

  1. Open settings.
  2. Tap Enable in the Unlimited photo storage block.

Turn off unlimited auto-upload

  1. Open settings.
  2. Turn off the Unlimited auto-uploading option (under the Camera Uploads block).

Once you turn off unlimited auto-upload, photos and videos are uploaded in the Camera folder. They will use space on your Disk.

Actions with photos and videos

With auto-uploaded photos and videos, you can do the same thing as with ordinary files: view them, add them to albums, download, or share them. But once you copy a photo into another folder on the Disk, move it to Trash or edit it, it takes up space on your Disk.

What folder will my photos and videos be in?

Automatically uploaded files are displayed in the All photos and Feed sections on mobile devices and in All photos and Recent files on the service page. In the program for Windows or in macOS app, you can open All photos from the main menu (Windows: the Disk icon in the notifications area, macOS: the Disk icon in the top line of the menu).

Auto-uploaded photos and videos aren't saved in the Camera Uploads folder and aren't synced with the computer program. To sync the photos, open the All photos section and copy the photos to the desired folder on the Disk.

I turned off unlimited auto-upload

Photos and videos will be uploaded in the Camera Uploads folder created automatically. In this case they will occupy space on your Disk.

The Camera Uploads folder cannot be modified. If you rename, delete or move the Camera Uploads folder, a new folder with the same name will be created in its place and all your photos and videos will be uploaded there.

You can share the Camera Uploads folder or open shared access to it. All files in this folder are available to the users if you share the folder with them or send them a public link.

If you don't want to store your photos and videos in the Camera Uploads folder, move them to any other Disk folder. These files won't be uploaded again.

Notifications about uploaded photos and videos

Once new photos or videos are auto-uploaded to the Disk, you see a pop-up notification in the upper right corner of the screen on the service page. This information will also appear in your list containing all your notifications. To view all notifications, click the icon. If you don't want to receive pop-up notifications about auto-uploads, click the icon and turn off this option.

How do I make sure that the unlimited auto-upload is on?

  1. Check that auto-upload is turned on in the Yandex.Disk program settings.
  2. Take several photos on your phone
  3. Make sure that they are auto-uploaded on Disk.
  4. Make sure that these photos are displayed in the All photos section and aren't displayed in the Camera Uploads section.

In the mobile app, you can check the settings and make sure that the Unlimited auto-uploading option is on (iOS: in the Auto-upload photos block, Android: under the Auto-upload photos block).