Auto-upload photos and videos from mobile devices to the “Camera Uploads” folder

Configure unlimited auto-uploads of media files to Yandex.Disk if you take a lot of photos and videos with your phone or tablet. This way, your photos won't be lost even if something happens to your phone or tablet.

Photos and videos are uploaded to the “Camera Uploads” folder. You can view files on the Yandex.Disk home page, in the mobile application and in the desktop program.

On the Yandex.Disk page, you can access this folder using the panel on the left:

Attention. The Camera Uploads folder cannot be modified. If you rename, delete or move the “Camera Uploads” folder, a new folder with the same name will be created in its place and all your photos and videos will be uploaded there.

If you don't want to store your photos and videos in the “Camera Uploads” folder, you can move them to any other Disk folder. The files you moved aren't uploaded again during the next auto-upload.

Photos and videos automatically uploaded to the “Camera Uploads” folder will take up space on your Yandex.Disk. If you don't want them to take up space, enable unlimited auto-uploads.

  1. Enable auto-uploads
  2. What folder will my photos and videos be in?
  3. Actions with photos and videos
  4. Notifications about uploaded photos and videos
  5. You have run out of space on your Yandex.Disk because of auto-uploads
  6. Photos and videos are no longer uploaded to Camera uploads
  7. Other people's photos and videos uploaded to my Yandex.Disk
  8. Disable auto-uploads

Enable auto-uploads

  1. Open settings.
  2. Click Photo auto-upload.
  3. Enable Photo auto-uploads.
  4. Make sure that Unlimited auto-uploads is disabled.
  5. Choose which network to use to upload photos:
    • Disable Over any network if you want to upload files only over Wi-Fi.
    • Enable Over any network if you want to upload files over both Wi-Fi and mobile internet.
      Attention. Mobile data charges may apply.

What folder will my photos and videos be in?

Automatically uploaded files will be stored in “Camera uploads”. You can also see them under All photos and Feed in the mobile apps and All photos and New files on the Yandex.Disk page.

Attention. Under All photos, files are only displayed, not stored. (If you delete files from All photos, they will also be deleted from the “Camera uploads” folder. Files deleted from Yandex.Disk are kept in the Trash for 30 days. While the files are in the Trash, you can recover them. After 30 days, they are automatically removed from the server. Once deleted from the server, these files cannot be restored.

Actions with photos and videos

The same actions are available with automatically uploaded photos and videos as with ordinary files: you can view, download, or share them.

Notifications about uploaded photos and videos

Once new photos or videos are auto-uploaded to the Disk, you see a pop-up notification in the upper right corner of the screen on the service page. This information will also appear in your list of notifications. To view all notifications, click the icon. If you don't want to receive pop-up notifications about auto-uploads, click the icon and disable this option.

You have run out of space on your Yandex.Disk because of auto-uploads

If you run out of space on Yandex.Disk, you can't upload new files, share files, or create shared folders. Additionally, you can't use public links to download files you shared earlier, but you can save them to Yandex.Disk. Other actions with files are not blocked. You can still view files, download them to your computer, edit, move, or delete.

Get more storage space to take full advantage of Yandex.Disk.

To avoid running out of space in Yandex.Disk due to auto-uploads, enable unlimited auto-uploads.

Photos and videos are no longer uploaded to Camera uploads

This is most likely because you enabled unlimited auto-uploads. Media files are not stored in the “Camera uploads” folder when unlimited auto-upload is enabled. You can view them under Photos on the Yandex.Disk page.

To start uploading photos and videos to the “Camera” folder again, disable unlimited auto-uploads.

Other people's photos and videos uploaded to my Yandex.Disk

Someone else's files may end up on your Yandex.Disk if you log in on someone else's mobile device. In this case, if auto-uploads are enabled, files from this device will upload to your Yandex.Disk.

You can stop uploading other people's files to your Yandex.Disk in one of the following ways:

Log out on all devices
To prevent other people's files from uploading to your Yandex.Disk, log out of Yandex.Disk on all devices.
Revoke program and app acces

You can also revoke access that Yandex.Disk programs and apps have to your files stored on the server:

  1. Open the Access management page.
  2. Look through the list and find all the lines that feature Yandex.Disk.
  3. Tap on each line, and tap Remove.

Disable auto-uploads

  1. Open settings.
  2. Click Photo auto-upload.
  3. Disable Photo auto-uploads.