Geolocation on iOS mobile devices

Geolocation is the identification of the geographical location of a user's device.

Sites and apps request access to your geolocation in order to provide better search results and provide relevant information that factors in the user's location.

You can allow or deny access to your location.

  1. Enabling or disabling location tracking
  2. Setting up shared geolocation settings
  3. Resetting geolocation settings

Enabling or disabling location tracking

When an app or site requests information about where you are, a warning will appear on the screen. You can choose your geolocation settings for a site or an app, which will remain in effect while you use it.

To change the settings:

  1. Go to the device's SettingsPrivacyLocation Services.
  2. Choose what app you need from the list of installed apps.
  3. Select a settings option (available options vary depending on the program):
    • Always — allows the app to track your location.
    • Never — does not allow the app to track your location.
    • While using — allow the app to identify your location while you use the app.
Note. If location tracking is disabled in the general settings, it will not be possible to enable or disable location tracking on a per-app basis.

Setting up shared geolocation settings

To set up shared geolocation settings for all apps on your device:

  1. Go to the device's SettingsPrivacyLocation Services.
  2. Change the position of the Location Services switch:
    • Turn it on to enable location tracking of your device.
    • Turn it off to disable location tracking of the device.

Resetting geolocation settings

In order to function properly, sites may request location data from your device.

Geolocation settings are stored in the browser. If necessary, you can reset this information:

  1. Open your browser and tap Settings.
  2. In the Privacy section, tap Clear data.
  3. Check the option Warnings for sites (do not check the other options).
  4. Tap Clear, then tap Yes.