Browser
Recommendations

Questions about browser settings

Can I transfer my settings from the alpha version of the browser to the beta version?

You can transfer your bookmarks, history, and other settings from the alpha version to the beta version of the browser.

  1. On your computer, open the folder C:\Users\<your profile name>\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser Alpha\User Data.
  2. Copy the contents to the folder C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\Yandex\YandexBrowser\User Data.

Attention! After you do this, any existing data for the beta version will be permanently lost.

What happens when browser settings are reset?

As the result of resetting browser settings, the original settings will be restored:

To reset the browser settings:

  1. click the icon  Settings.
  2. In the lower half of the Settings page, click Show advanced settings.
  3. In the Reset settings section, click Reset settings.
  4. Click Reset.

How does the browser protect its settings?

Some programs (such as chat programs, extra browser panels, and so on) may change your browser settings without asking you.

Yandex.Browser tracks these changes and automatically restores the default settings. You'll see a message about this at the top of the Settings page (just click Settings):

How does the browser protect the default search engine?

Certain programs may change the default search engine without telling you.

To prevent this, the browser asks you to confirm the changes (you will need to enter the security code from an image):

How can I disable the browser update in the background?

Yandex.Browser is updated automatically irrespective of whether you use it or not. This is for security reasons: new threats and vulnerabilities constantly arise in the internet and the browser gets new and better protection methods.

We do not recommend disabling automatic update in the background, but if you need to:

  1. click the icon  Settings.
  2. In the lower half of the Settings page, click Show advanced settings.
  3. In the System section, disable the Update browser even when it's not open option.

Now automatic update in background is disabled. However, as soon as you open the browser, it immediately checks for updates and will do so regularly in the future when running.

It is not possible to completely disable automatic update in the browser. We recommend using the latest browser version to get maximum protection against internet threats.

browser settings
import settings
protection of settings
default search engine
reset settings